Rival Caesars: A Romance of Ambition, Love, and War | Ragnar Redbeard | Pre-Order

Rival Caesars: A Romance of Ambition, Love, and War | Ragnar Redbeard | Pre-Order

  • $19.95
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Only 25 left!

Is it possible that the famous duel between Hamilton and Burr was part of a judgment against the two by a secret society they formed decades prior to create an American shadow government? This story, telling of the lives of two great rivals, lies somewhere between a Robert E. Howard pastiche and a Yankee version of Thomas Dixon Jr. Rival Caesars is a fantasy Revolutionary War tale by the man who penned the infamous philippic titled Might is Right.


This is a pre-order of 100 copies. THE FIRST 100 COPIES RECEIVE A FREE BOOKLET, SA1150 I Beheld Redbeard: an Interview with Darrell W. Conder. 

We are almost out, but you can still get one. If you can read this, order now and you will get the free booklet.

The book is scheduled to be released November 5th, 2020. Orders will ship as close to that date as possible. It may be before or after that date. If orders are delayed more than a week after that date, we will contact you about the delay.


Arthur Desmond, who wrote as Ragnar Redbeard, here uses the nom de guerre Desmond Dilg. Might is Right ends thus: "P.S. Book II will be issued when circumstances demand it." The 1903 novel Rival Caesars is that book

Preceding his time as one of the earliest proponents of an American Nietzscheanism, Desmond was an Antipodean radical, fighting in the streets alongside anarcho-communists and trade unionists. He stood for election as a labor candidate and promoted Georgism to both Māori and Europeans in New Zealand and Australia. Fleeing the law, he settled in America among the Chicago bohemian scene, and his radicalism turned from collective rights to individualist might.

While Might is Right was intended as an awakening call for "mighty men of valor," Rival Caesars is the plan of action, plotted out under the guise of a historical romance. This novel is nothing short of a rallying cry to an American Caesar to claim their share of pelf, prominence, and prestige in the vein of Napoleon or Cecil Rhodes.

Incredibly rare for nearly a century, here, finally, is an accessible and beautifully designed paperback edition, with an authoritative introductory essay by Darrell W. Conder. While it will never be as infamous as its predecessor, Rival Caesars is the ultimate book by the man known as Ragnar Redbeard.


We Also Recommend